The boy who loved mommy a little too hard…again?

This week’s book “Agostino” by Alberto Moravia was quite an interesting novel. I like this book quite a bit, one of my favs so far. It was extremely clear while not taking away from the imagery, as I felt like I was on a scenic beach the entire time. The two main things that stood out to me was, of course, his odd relationship with his mother, as well as the merciless boy group Agostino briefly became a part of. Also, as was reading Agostino I briefly thought of a couple books.

As i’m sure a lot of people will bring up, the way the book described the relationship between Agostino and his mother was worrisome –to say the least. While Agostino described his mother in intimate ways, he was also repulsed by this new found “womanness” he began to see in her. This signified a change in Agostino, or more so a sexual awakening (puberty?). While I do not think he sexually desires his mother, she was a guide to realizing he begins to seek love, affection, and provocativeness in other women. This reminded me of Proust’s Combray. While this character was younger, he still had a worrisome obsession with his mother’s goodnight kisses. You see this jealousy in Agostino when his mother begins hanging around a young man, however this is a boy who wants mommy’s attention to himself. Unlike Proust, we see a change. Agostino begins to outgrow the babying he’s so used to, and asks to be treated more like a man near the end of the book.

The group of boys Agostino befriends is nothing less than cruel to him, brutal even. While the boys bully Agostino beating him around, making fun of his rich life, and talking down his mother, the boys bring out an important fact. How sheltered and gullible Agostino is. He clearly has not been put in hard real life situations. As shown, he was so confused about sexuality, he didn’t really know what prostitution was. I believe that the boys acted as a metaphor for the shift between childhood and adolescence. It’s’ rough and confusing, just as the boys are with Agostino. They begin to show Agostino as you get older, the harder life is, and at times, it becomes hard to undertand changes occuring internally. While reading the scenes of the boys on the beach becomming physical, quickly turning on each other, it reminded me of Lord of the Flies. Though not nearly as intense of a story, it made me imagine how intense things could have gotten with the boys. For some reason, this desire for young boys to chose violence, break the rules, and rebel seems to be such an occuring theme intertwined with adolescence.

I have noticed a lack of a father figure in a few of the assigned readings now. Do you think Agostino having a father figure would make a difference in his journey of change?

7 responses to “The boy who loved mommy a little too hard…again?”

  1. Hi Isabella!

    I like your question! In my opinion, Agostino is attracted to the boys as the boys are the only male “role models” in his life, despite their violence and rudeness. If he would have a father figure who is willing to educate about sexuality and help him go through puberty, he might not find the boys as cool.

    Like

  2. Hi Isabella!

    Thanks for sharing. This is a very interesting question. Yes, the father is a missing figure in this story. It seems to me that this issue is more likely to be related to the issue of status and boundaries between parents and children in each other’s minds. If the boundaries of identity are very clear/labelled and there is an absolute class status distinction, then Agostino should still be on the same path, even with the involvement of the father figure.

    Like

  3. Hi! to answer your question, personally I feel like it would have been good for him to have a father figure in his life, teaching him things about growing up rather than the boys he met at the beach who were explaining things to him in vulgar ways. I definitely think it would’ve been beneficial for him to grow up with his father but I also think that his jealousy would have been worse and he would have harboured hatred for his father because of his attraction towards his mother.

    Nini

    Like

  4. I think a father figure would completely change the the plot of the book. I don’t think it would change some of the feelings that Agostino has, and I think there would still be a similar book, but perhaps his focus would be on someone else because he wouldn’t have that close proximity to his mother? Like, maybe it would be a book about his schoolteacher. I’m not sure though, I think that thr oedipus complex is silly

    Dalia Currie

    Like

  5. I think a father figure would completely change the the plot of the book. I don’t think it would change some of the feelings that Agostino has, and I think there would still be a similar book, but perhaps his focus would be on someone else because he wouldn’t have that close proximity to his mother? Like, maybe it would be a book about his schoolteacher. I’m not sure though, I think that thr oedipus complex is silly

    Dalia Currie

    Like

  6. “the way the book described the relationship between Agostino and his mother was worrisome –to say the least”

    “Worrisome,” perhaps, but not necessarily surprising… For Freud, after all, such difficulties involved in seeing our parents as others see them is part of growing up. I do sometimes wonder if today we expect kids to have untroubled adolescences (or we’ve forgotten the difficulties we may have had while growing up). To put this another way: how unusual is Agostino’s experience?

    Like

  7. Katrina Escobal Avatar
    Katrina Escobal

    Isabella,

    Firstly, your title made me giggle, which is why I chose to comment on yours. The changes in Agostino’s views was definitely evident throughout the story. I remember a scene where his mother, like usual, touched him lovingly, but he kind of jumps back a little. It was also right after he saw her and the young man kissing so to tie it back to your question, I think Agostino would feel a sense of rivalry between him and the father figure. Though, I can’t say this confidently if you meant that his father never passed away.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started